ASK A QUESTION

Ask us a Question & we’ll be in touch!

Coeliac disease: Reading food labels

All packaged foods in the UK have to state whether they contain gluten. Only foods which contain 20ppm or less of gluten can be labeled ‘gluten-free’. Be aware – this is not always the case when you buy packaged foods abroad.

When a manufacturer has decided there is a risk that a product could be contaminated the following warnings will be present on packaging:

Some ingredients are made from cereal containing gluten but have been processed such that the gluten has been removed (e.g. Glucose syrups derived from wheat or barley and wheat-based maltodextrins). These ingredients are safe to eat if you have coeliac disease.